Skip to content

LWG Animal Welfare Group (AWG)

The LWG Animal Welfare Group (AWG) is a separately funded educational subcommittee of the Leather Working Group. The AWG is designed to help educate members of the leather value chain on the salient aspects of animal welfare.

The AWG's primary outputs to date including 26+ country profile reports ad an animal welfare guide (created in partnership with RSPA & Progressive Beef), tailored for companies operatinng within the leather supply chain. The current AWG Co-Chairs are:

  • Sarah Nichols - Bellroy
  • Erika Benz - Adidas

LWG Environmental Impact Working Group (EIWG)

The LWG Environmental Impact Working Group (EIWG) was launched in 2021, designed to as a platform for engagement and education on the environmental impact of leather, as well as investigating ways to reduce the impact of the leather value chain. The group has spearheaded several important projects, including the LWG Lifecycle Assessment (LCA) study. The current co-chairs of the group are:

  • Dietrich Tegtmeyer — TFL Ledertechnik GmbH
  • Thomas Gregor — ECCO Leather

LWG Supplier Sub-Group (SSG)

The LWG Supplier Sub-Group aims to provide a platform for supplier members of the group to make a significant contribution to the LWG objectives and assist in resolving industry issues. All supplier members are automatically members of the SSG, and an EC member chairs the group. The current SSG Chair is:

  • Dietrich Tegtmeyer — TFL Ledertechnik GmbH

LWG Tannery of the Future (TOTF) Sub-Group

The TOTF Sub-Group exists to develop, maintain and implement the ‘LWG Tannery of the Future – Are You Ready for an Audit?’ self-assessment tool.  TOTF Sub-Group members include:

  • Allison Cowee — Ariat
  • Daniel Tesfaye — Solidaridad Network
  • Dietrich Tegtmeyer — TFL Ledertechnik GmbH
  • Mark Lucas — LWG approved auditor
  • Md. Firoz Talukder — Apex Footwear
  • Nadia Aiad — Burberry
  • Phil Townsend - Primark
  • Ralph Arbeid— Hueni
  • Viswanathan Munusamy – Nati Consulting

LWG Technical Sub-Group (TSG)

The LWG Technical Sub-Group (TSG) exists to create, develop and review the LWG Audit Standards and all other technical content regarding their scope. TSG members are appointed on the basis of technical experience. Current TSG members include:

  • Ian Scher — PrimeAsia Leather Corporation (co-chair)
  • Jon Loxston — Pittards Plc (co-chair)
  • Carl Flach — ISA TanTec
  • Jutta Knoedler — ITG GmbH (LWG approved auditor)
  • Mark Lucas — Eurofins | BLC Leather Technology Centre (LWG approved auditor)
  • Viswanathan Munusamy – Nati Consulting (LWG approved auditor)
  • Diego Navarro – Curtidos Badia
  • David Wright — Tapestry, Inc.

LWG Traceability Working Group (TrWG)

The LWG Traceability Working Group (TRWG) was launched in 2020 to:

  1. Define what traceability means on country level, including: deforestation, animal welfare, and the predominant regional slaughter type
  2. Understand what traceability needs to achieve and what the priorities are
  3. Establish what solutions exist to facilitate better traceability
  4. Define a way to assess and measure the requirements in the protocol
  5. Improve traceability along the value chain, primarily through phasing requirements into the audit protocol

The co-chairs of TrWG are currently:

  • Craig Drew - Dr Martens
  • Ian Scher - PrimeAsia